Alberta Premier Rachel Notley shakes up cabinet, creates new ministry

Written by admin on 15/04/2019 Categories: 老域名出售

EDMONTON – Alberta Premier Rachel Notley shuffled her cabinet on Thursday morning, and signalled her government wants to focus on economic diversification and job growth by creating a new ministry.

Scroll down for a full list

One cabinet member switched ministries, another had their responsibilities adjusted and a third MLA was called up from the backbenches.

Danielle Larivee, MLA for Lesser Slave Lake, was sworn in as minister of municipal affairs and the minister of service Alberta on Thursday morning.

WATCH: MLA Danielle Larivee talks about Alberta cabinet appointment

Larivee took over the portfolio from MLA Deron Bilous, who was moved to the newly-created economic development and trade ministry. Bilous represents Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview.

WATCH: Alberta MLA Deron Bilous talks about new portfolio

MLA Lori Sigurdson’s role changed on Thursday. She had been the minister of innovation and advanced education. While she remains in charge of the advanced education ministry, the innovation file has been moved to Bilous’ new economic development portfolio. Sigurdson also continues to head the ministry of jobs, skills, training and labour.

In a news conference, Notley said the cabinet changes were aimed at job creators and business innovators.

The province said the new economic development and trade ministry will bring under one umbrella work that is currently spread between several departments.



  • ‘Today we open up a new chapter in the story of Alberta’: Premier Rachel Notley

  • Alberta goes from blue to orange in the 2015 provincial election

  • Orange crush: NDP stomps out 44-year PC dynasty, Jim Prentice resigns

Notley and 11 cabinet ministers were sworn in on the steps of the Alberta Legislature on May 24, 19 days after the NDP ended 44 years of PC reign in Alberta by winning a majority in the May 5 election. Thursday’s mini-shuffle expands Notley’s cabinet by one.

READ MORE: Who is in Alberta Premier Rachel Notley’s cabinet?

The new session of the legislature resumes Monday. The NDP will table its first budget Tuesday.

On Wednesday, the finance minister announced the budget would not be balanced until the 2019-2020 fiscal year, one year later than Notley promised during the election.

WATCH: Premier Rachel Notley is expected to announce changes to her cabinet on Thursday morning. Jenna Freeman reports.

A list of the cabinet in order of precedence:

Rachel Notley: Premier, president of executive council
Brian Mason: Government house leader, minister of infrastructure, minister of transportation
David Eggen: Education; culture and tourism
Deron Bilous: Economic development and trade; deputy government house leader
Joe Ceci: President of treasury board; finance
Marg McCuaig-Boyd: Energy
Sarah Hoffman: Health and seniors
Kathleen Ganley: Justice and solicitor general; aboriginal relations
Lori Sigurdson: Advanced education; jobs, skills, training and labour
Oneil Carlier: Agriculture and forestry
Shannon Phillips: Environment and parks; responsible for status of women; deputy government house leader
Irfan Sabir: Human services
Danielle Larivee: Municipal affairs; Service Alberta

With files from


Comments Off on Alberta Premier Rachel Notley shakes up cabinet, creates new ministry